Tv commercials

Directors Guild of America Announces Nominations for Television, Commercials and Documentaries | News

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has named the nominees for its television, advertising and documentary awards.

Included in the list are directors of feature-length documentaries The truffle hunters, My octopus teacher, Welcome to Chechnya, state of the boys and The painter An/a Jhe thief.

In the TV categories, British director Julie Anne Robinson won for her work on Bridgerton in a drama series that also includes directors from Ozark, the Mandalorian, better call Saul and Country.

The DGA’s TV Movie and Limited Series nominations rewarded Denmark’s Susanne Bier for The defeatas well as directors of The Queen’s Bet, hamilton, Wanda Vision and Small fires everywhere.

Winners will be announced at the 73rd Annual DGA Awards, a private virtual event for Guild members, on April 10.

Nominations for the DGA Feature Film Awards are due to be announced tomorrow (March 9).

Nominees in the main TV and documentary categories (full list here):


JAson Bateman, ozark, ‘Wartime’ (Netflix)

Jon Favreau, The Mandalorian, ‘Chapter 9: The Marshal’ (Disney+)

Vfrom Gilligan, You better call Saul, ‘Bagman’ (AMC)

Lesli Linka Glatter, Country, ‘Prisoners of War’ (Showtime)

JJulie Anne Robinson, Bridgerton, “Diamond of the First Water” (Netflix)


Zach Braff, Ted Lasso, “Cookies” (Apple TV+)

MJDelaney, Ted Lasso, “The Hope That Kills You” (AppleTV+)

SUsanna Fogel, The stewardess, “In Case of Emergency” (HBO Max)

ERin O’Malley, Calm your enthusiasm, “The Surprise Party” (HBO)

Jeff Schaffer, Calm your enthusiasm, ‘The Store of Spite’ (HBO)


SUsanne Bier, The defeat (HBO)

Scott frank, The Queen’s Bet (Netflix)

JHomas Kail, hamilton (Disney+)

Mto Shakman, Wanda Vision (Disney+)

LYnn Shelton, Small fires everywhere, “Find a Way” (Hulu)


Micheael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw, The truffle hunters (Sony Pictures Classics)

Pippa Ehrlich and James Reed, My octopus teacher (Netflix)

DFrance passionate, Welcome to Chechnya (HBO Max)

AManda McBaine and Jesse Moss, state of the boys (A24)

BEnjamin Ree, The painter An/a Jhe thief (Elevation photos)